Weekly report – August 27

Although the course is playing very heavy at least some golf is being played but I was told the scores were rubbish from the Grumpy’s last Tuesday.

Marion McKenzie was the winner of the 18 holers on Wednesday with a Nett 73 and second was Jenny Wilkie with a Nett 75. Gretel Dick, Marilyn Mackenzie and Lyle Griffiths all finished with a Nett 76. The putting was won by Gretel Dick with 27 putts and Elaine Howe and Lyle Griffiths were second equal. Felicity Warren and Adele Cairns scored the only two’s.

30 came out and played on Thursday and the winner was Doug Clark with a very commendable 45 points. Bill Crook was second with 43 points, third was Roger Parkinson with 42 points and Peter Hudson was fourth with 40 points. At the other end of the scale was Martin Lawrence with 23 points, however he did get a two and Bill Crook was nearest the pin.

So to Saturday where a Bisque Par was the competition played and the winner with a very impressive 10 up on par was Shane Hartnell. Runner up was Colin Whibley-Smith on 7 up. Andrew Lawler, Derek Stephens and David Stevenson all finished on 6 up. David Stevenson, Terry Fraei and Colin Whibley-Smith all had two’s while Andrew Lawler struck the birds nest. Nearest the pin was Graeme McIsaac.

Sunday a Par round was held and the winner was Bill Crook who had a 9 up on par. Bill has had a great few days – runner up in the Thursday comp and placed third with Bill Jones at a tournament in Featherston on Saturday and he also struck the birds nest with Doug Clark on Sunday. Doug’s was quite something though; he had an Eagle 2 on the 7th hole. Ian Stewart finished third with a 4 up on par and Tora Boyne and Ro Griffiths were 3 up. Malcolm Wood, Ro Griffiths and Graham Jacobson all scored two’s.

There are still openings for the Lamb & Chardonnay Tournament and entries are also being taken for the Men’s 72 hole Open in October.

Good Golfing & Good Luck